This table links towards the wedding guidelines for the states and attempts to summarize a few of their salient points. Those enthusiastic about the wedding legislation of a specific jurisdiction should review its legislation directly as opposed to count on this summary that might never be completely accurate or complete.
Related materials that are LII:
|State||popular Law Marriage||chronilogical age of permission to marry||Medical exams||Marriage permit|
|Age with parental consent||Age without parental permission||Max. duration between exam and license||range of medical exam||Waiting period before license||Duration of permit legitimacy (expiration)|
|Alabama- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a, b||18||–||–||–||thirty day period|
|Alaska- Title 25, Chapter 5||No||16 c||18||–||–||3 times, d||three months|
|Arizona- Chapter 1, Article 1||No||16 c (2)||18||–||–||–||1 Arkansas- Title 9, Subtitle 2, § 11||No year||18||–||–||f||–|
|California- Family Code, §§ 300-500||No||b, g||18||1 month, d, h||–||–||3 months|
|Colorado- §§ 14-2-105 thru 14-2-110||Yes||16 c||18||–||–||–||1 month|
|Connecticut- Title 46b, § 815e||No||16 c (2)||18||–||i||4 days, d||65 days|
|Delaware- Title 13, Chapter 1||No||18||–||–||twenty four hours, j||1 month|
|Florida- Title 43, Chapter 741||No||16 a, e||18||–||–||–||60 times|
|Georgia- §§ 19-3-1 thru 19-3-68||No gg||16 ag ag e, k||18||–||i||3 times, l||thirty day period|
|Hawaii- § 572||No||15 k||18||–||–||—-||thirty days|
|Idaho- § 32-301 thru 32-501||No gg||16 c||18||–||m, n||–||–|
|Illinois- Chapter 750, CS 5, Part II||No||16 o||18||–||p||one day||60 times|
|Indiana- Title 31, Article 11||No gg||17 ag e||18||–||q||–||60 days|
|Iowa- Chapter 595||Yes||16 k||18||–||–||3 times||–|
|Kansas- Chapter 23, Article 1||Yes||16 c (2)||18||–||–||3 times, d||a few months|
|Kentucky- Chapter 402||No||18 k||18||–||–||–||thirty day period|
|Louisiana- Title IV, Chapter 1 (Civil Code 86)||No||18 c||18||10 times||–||–||–|
|Maine- Title 19, Chapter 23||No||16 c||18||–||–||3 times, d, f||3 months|
|Maryland- §§ 2-201 thru 2-503||No||16 e, r||18||–||–||48 hours, d||half a year|
|Massachusetts- Title III, Chapter 207||No||Male-14 k Female-12 k||18||3-60 days, s||–||3 times, f||60 times|
|Michigan- Chapter 551||No||16||18||–||–||3 days, d||33 days after application|
|Minnesota- Chapter 517||No||16 k||18||–||–||5 times, d||half a year|
|Mississippi- Title 93, Chapter 1||No||g, k||1 month||t||3 times, d||–|
|Missouri- Chapter 451||No||15 u||18||–||–||–||1 month|
|Montana- Title 40, Chapter 1||Yes||16 k||18||–||t||–||180 times|
|Nebraska- Chapter 42||No||17||19||–||i||–||one year|
|Nevada- Title 11, Chapter 122||No||16 c||18||–||–||–||one year|
|brand brand New Hampshire- Title 43, Chapter 457||No||Male- 14 v Female- 13 v||18||–||–||3 times, d, f||3 months|
|New Jersey- Title 37||No||16 c, e||18||–||–||72 hours, d||30 times|
|brand New Mexico- Chapter 40, Article 1||No||16 e, u||18||30 times||t||–||–|
|brand New York- Domestic Relations (Chapter 14), Articles 1 and 2||No||16 v||18||–||w||24 hours||60 times|
|new york- Chapter 51||No||16 ag e||18||–||–||–||–|
|North Dakota- Chapter 14-03||No||16||18||–||–||–||60 times|
|Ohio- Title 31, Chapter 3101||No gg||Male-18 k Female-16 c, ag ag ag e||18||–||–||5 times, d, x||60 days|
|Oklahoma- 43-3||No gg||16 c, e||18||1 month, d||t||y||30 times|
|Oregon- Title 11-106||No||17 z||18||–||–||3 times, d||60 days|
|Pennsylvania- Title 23, Part 1||No gg||16 u||18||1 month||t||3 times, d||60 days|
|Rhode Island- Title 15, Chapters 15-1 thru 15-3||Yes||18||–||aa||–||a few months|
|sc- Title 20, Chapter 1||Yes||16 e||18||–||–||1 day||–|
|South Dakota- Title 25, Chapters 1 and 2||No||16 ag ag e||18||–||–||–||20 times|
|Tennessee- Title 36, Chapter 3||No||16 u||18||–||–||3 days, d, bb||30 days|
|Texas- Title 1, Subtitles A and B||Yes||16 k, v||18||–||–||cc||thirty days|
|Utah- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a||18 dd||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Vermont- Title 15, Chapter 1||No||16 k||18||thirty days, d||t||one day, d||–|
|Virginia- Title 20, Chapter 2||No||16 a, e||18||–||ee||–||60 times|
|Washington- Title 26, Chapter 4||No||17 u||18||–||ff||3 times||60 times|
|western Virginia- Chapter 48, Article 1||No||18 ag e||18||–||t||3 times, d||–|
|Wisconsin- Chapter 765 thru 767||No||16||18||–||letter||5 days, d||30 days|
|Wyoming- Title 20, Chapter 1||No||16 u||18||–||i||–||–|
|District of Columbia- Division VIII, Title 46, Subtitle 1, Chapter 4||Yes||16 a||18||thirty days||t||3 times, d||–|
|Puerto Rico||No||Male-18 c, e, u Female-16 c, ag e, u||Male- 21 Female- 21 ag ag e||–||t||–||–|
Indicates that the authors of this table were unable to locate any given details about the subject
- (a) Parental permission maybe maybe maybe not required if small once was hitched.
- (b) Other statutory needs use.
- (c) more youthful parties may marry with parental consent.
- (c) (2) Younger parties may marry with parental and consent that is judicial.
- (d) Waiting period can be prevented
- ( ag ag e) Younger parties may get permit in case there is maternity or delivery of kid.
- (f) Parties must register notice of intention to marry with local clerk.
- (g) No age limitations
- (h) whenever unmarried guy and unmarried girl, maybe perhaps not minors, have now been residing together as guy and spouse, they could, without health certification, be hitched upon issuance of appropriate authorization.
- (i) Venereal infection and rubella (for feminine)
- (j) Residents, before termination of 24 hour waiting duration; non-residents, before termination of 96 hour waiting duration.
- (k) Parental consent and/or permission of judge required.
- (l) Unless events are 18 many years of age or even more, or feminine is expecting, or candidates will be the moms and dads of the child that is living away from wedlock.
- (m) Rubella for female; there are specific exceptions, and region judge may waive examination that is medical proof that crisis exists.
- (letter) candidates must get information about AIDS and certify having read it.
- (o) Judicial permission can be given whenever moms and dads will not consent.
- (p) Venereal conditions; test for sickle cellular anemia provided at demand of examining physician.
- (q) Any female that is unsterilized 50 must submit with application for permit a medical report saying whether she had immunological reaction to rubella, or even a written record that the rubella vaccine had been administered on or after her very very first birthday celebration. Judge may by purchase dispense with your demands.
- (r) If parties are in least 16 years old, evidence of age and permission of events in person are expected. If your parent is sick an affidavit because of the parent that is incapacitated a doctor’s affidavit required.
- (s) Doctor’s certification should be filed thirty days prior to see of intention.
- (t) Venereal diseases. In WV and okay, Circuit court judge might waive requirement
- (u) Younger parties may get permit in unique circumstances.
- (v) Below chronilogical age of permission parties require parental permission and authorization of judge, no more youthful than 14 for males and 13 for females.
- (w) Tests for sickle cellular can be needed.
- (x) candidates under age 18 must declare that they will have had wedding guidance.
- (y) If an individual or both events are underneath the age for wedding without parental permission, three time waiting duration.
- (z) If an event does not have any parent living within state, and something celebration has residence in state for half a year, no authorization needed.
- (aa) real assessment and bloodstream test needed; offer of HIV counseling needed.
- (bb) Unless events are over 18 years old.
- (cc) 72 hour waiting period after issuance of permit.
- (dd) Authorizes counties to deliver for premarital guidance as a prerequisite to issuance of permit to people under 18 and individuals formerly divorced.
- (ee) needed offer of HIV test, and/or must certanly be given home elevators AIDS and tests available.
- (ff) No exam needed, but parties must register affidavit of non-affiliction with contagious venereal infection.
- (gg) No common-law wedding is entered into, however these states recognize typical legislation marriages that have been entered into before these dates:
- Georgia- joined into ahead of January 1, 1997 are recognized,
- Idaho- joined into just before January 1, 1997 are recognized,
- Indiana- joined into ahead of 1, 1958 are recognized january,
- Ohio- entered into ahead of 10, 1991 are recognized october,
- Oklahoma – entered into ahead of November 1, 1998 are recognized, present situation unclear,
- Pennsylvania- entered into just before September 17, 2003 (see PNC Bank Corp. v. W.C.A. B. asian wife, 831 A.2d 1269 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003) or perhaps 1, 2005 (see 2004 House Bill No. 2719) are recognized january.
- (hh) minimal age for common-law marriage determined to be 12; legislature instituted minimum age of 18 for marriages started on or after September 1, 2006
Supply: situated in component on a chart when you look at the World Almanac and Book of Facts, World Almanac Books, 1999. Entries were updated through overview of the statutes and links included to allow consultation that is direct of state statutes.